top of page
  • Writer's pictureAgnes Gichuhi

Top 5 Inspirational Artists

Updated: May 3, 2018

I couldn't think of a better way to introduce my first art blog, other than paying homage to 5 incredible artists, that inspired me to become a creative.


I've been ridiculously anxious leading up to my first blog post. What the *bleep* do I write about, that could possibly capture your attention?

Do I even know the conventional rules of writing, yet alone anything remotely interesting about art? Cue in 3 months of procrastination, I put my doubts aside and created my blog and managed to find the perfect first topic. Spoiler Alert, its all about hyperrealism artists.



1. Kehinde Wiley is the genius responsible for the 2018 Barack Obama portrait (Lowkey, wish he painted Michelle's too). Wiley's paintings are aesthetically hypnotising, with thought provoking meaning behind each creative master piece. Take a look for yourself on www.kehindewiley.com

2. Arinze Stanley is a hyperrealism artist I stumbled across on Instagram. He's a self-taught creative who uses pencil to capture subjects of african decent then brilliantly executes emotions and liveliness through his drawings. www.arinzestanley.com

3. Ever looked at a painting, and instantly felt submerged in the water? As though you were standing in the middle of the ocean? Thats exactly how I felt when I first saw Zaria Foreman's interpretations of ice and water, through paintings. www.zariaforman.com



4. Footballer turned artist, Omar Ortiz was a gem I found on Instagram. He never compromises his hyperrealism talents, while using predominately woman as the subjects in his portrait style paintings. Titanic flashbacks, anyone? www.omarortiz.com


5. Last but not least, Chiamonwu Joy is everything black girl magic. Her african female subjects are captured through a charcoal medium, and the detail in her drawing are ridiculously mesmerising. Instagram: @Chiamonwu_joy_art.


42 views0 comments
bottom of page